There are more than 1,400 graduate students postdoctoral researchers involved in the Energy Frontier Research Center (EFRC) program. To highlight their accomplishments and further the development of the future scientific energy workforce, the Department of Energy’s Office of Basic Energy Sciences (BES) sponsored a Student and Postdoc Team Science Contest as part of the 2019 EFRC Principal Investigators’ Meeting in Washington, D.C. on July 29-30, 2019.  Each Director was invited to nominate a team of two or more graduate student and/or postdoctoral researchers to present a joint talk about their center research.  The DOE EFRC management team selected 14 finalists.  At the meeting, teams of DOE program managers selected the top six teams based on how well the research exemplified the opportunities provided by the center funding modality, scientific excellence, topical diversity, and quality of the presentation.  The winners received an award certificate from Harriet Kung, Associate Director of the DOE Office of Basic Energy Sciences, during a ceremony at the end of the meeting.

The abstracts of all the finalist talks can be found here. The teams are listed below. Team members are highlighted in red; presenters at the meeting are underlined.

Newsletter Articles

Research Highlights