Type: Diversity in Energy Science


Early career scientists will learn from national leaders in diversity, equity, and inclusion in STEM in this free and public Zoom webinar. It will begin with short presentations by the speakers, followed by a guided Q&A session. The discussion will highlight the current state-of-affairs in STEM, provide practical actions that empower all to effectively respond to situations, and explore how to build spaces with equity and inclusion at the forefront.


Dr. Julie Carruthers is a Senior Science & Technology Advisor to the Principal Deputy Director of the DOE’s Office of Science and Acting Director for the Office of Diversity, Inclusion & Research Integrity. She is leading efforts focused on advancing the Office of Science’s policies and practices for promoting diversity, equity, and inclusion in grant making practices and at the DOE national laboratories. She received her Ph.D. in Chemistry from Yale University.

Dr. Anastacia Awad is Head of Diversity and Inclusion (D&I) at Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research (NBIR). She leads strategic efforts to integrate inclusive, equitable systems into core scientific and business practices across the organization.  She earned her B.S. in Biology at Florida A&M University and a Ph.D. in Genetics & Molecular Biology at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Dr. Steven Townsend is an Associate Professor of organic chemistry at Vanderbilt University. He received his B.S. from Oakland University and his Ph.D. in organic chemistry from Vanderbilt University. He has worked to improve diversity in science as a mentor to 10+ Ph.D. students and co-authored “What Comes Next? Simple Practices to Improve Diversity in Science,” published in ACS Central Science.

Dr. Lydia Villa-Komaroff is a molecular biologist, a business executive, and a diversity advocate. She is a fellow of AAAS and the Association for Women in Science (AWIS) and a co-founding member of The Society for Advancement of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans in Science (SACNAS). She received her B.A. from Goucher College and her Ph.D. in Cell Biology from MIT.


  • Diana Lutz, m2M/t (co-chair)
  • Kaitlyn Prenger, FIRST (co-chair)
  • Ashlyn Hale, M2QM
  • Kayla Yano, FUTURE
  • Thomas Gartner, CSI
  • Dayton Vogel, UNCAGE-ME