Type: Grant Writing


The slides presented during the webinar (BES ECN Funding Opportunities Webinar 2023-04-26.pdf) are available in the assets section at the bottom of this page. 


Identifying funding opportunities can be difficult and challenging for early career scientists. Join us in this webinar to learn how funding opportunities at the DOE Office of Science for early career scientists are identified, applied for, granted, and managed. Our invited speakers will first give an overview of funding opportunities at the DOE Office of Science, and then focus on funding opportunities for early career scientists. Questions from the audience as well as prepared questions will be addressed by the speakers. This zoom webinar is free and open to the public.


Dr. Andrew Schwartz is currently the Director of the Materials Sciences and Engineering Division in the DOE Office of Science, Office of Basic Energy Sciences (BES). He was previously the Experimental Condensed Matter Physics program manager and Energy Frontier Research Center team lead in BES. Dr. Schwartz helped to establish the DOE Office of Science Early Career Research Program in 2010, and currently represents BES on the program coordinating committee. Prior to joining BES, Dr. Schwartz spent several years in industry leading a multi- disciplinary scientific and engineering team in the research and development of new technologies for semiconductor metrology.

Dr. Gail McLean is currently the Acting Director of Chemical Sciences, Geosciences, and Biosciences Division and the team lead for the Photochemistry and Biochemistry team in the DOE Office of Science, Office of Basic Energy Sciences (BES). Prior to joining DOE, Dr. McLean was a National Program Leader for Plant Biology in the Competitive Programs Unit of the Cooperative State Research, Education and Extension Service (which became the National Institute of Food and Agriculture). She provided leadership for several competitive grant programs while at USDA.


  • George Agbeworvi, REMIND (Leader)
  • Shenli Zhang, QMEENC (Co-Leader)
  • Linu Malakkal, TETI (Member)
  • Prasanna Salasiya, GMCS (Member)
  • Aaron Sternbach, ProQM (Member)
  • Swagatika Kamila, FaCT (Member)